The Best Birth Control Possible

DSC_0017Disclaimer: This post was written with my own personal experiences in mind. I do not mean to be offensive in any way.

I personally have always had doubts about whether or not I would ever like to have children. They take a lot of hard work and effort. It is a serious commitment. A commitment that too many people don’t take seriously enough if you ask me. For example a lot of girls that I graduated with in high school got pregnant shortly before or after graduation. All those girls were crazy in my mind! However, I partly must blame their parents.

And I will now let you in on the secret….

Their parents should have given them siblings, lots and lots of them. I personally believe that siblings are probably the best birth control possible. Especially my sister, she can be quite a hellion. Kids are so much work and without the proper care they may not become the best possible version of themselves.
I love my sister so much but she definitely has taught me many things about kids, that have made me think twice about procreating:

1. Girls are hormonal long before they hit puberty.

2. As much as I want to hate her I cannot.

3. Children are a sponge they will learn everything you do (good or bad).

4.  One of those boys in her life will take her heart and I will be terrified.

5. No matter the hate that her mother has instilled in her of me she finds a way to look past it and love me.

6. She never quits growing presently she is one inch shorter than me for now.

7. She confuses me beyond belief daily.

8. She is inconceivably innocent and fragile.

9. I can’t be her best friend until she is much older. No, now I must be her role model.

10. But most of all, I realized that my life has never been the same since she came into the picture.

Even though, a sibling is clearly not your child you get a feeling of responsibility for them. It is something that is almost impossible to explain. I would not trade my sister for the world but, it has been a long ride that has barely begun.

I know there will be many times yet to come where:

I will want to strangle her for any careless decisions. I will become angry with the boys who break her heart. I will be there to listen to her worries, fears, and worst of all high school drama. I will be one phone call away when she needs a “girl’s day” to escape from reality. I will call her to catch up on her life events no matter how little they seem to me. I will always remember that I am her only sister and therefore, she expects the world of me. I will be there for her on every important event like her prom, graduation day, first job, first car, first date, wedding day, and oh my goodness her pregnancies.

While she is not my child she is my sister. Personally, I feel like being the sibling somehow has more responsibility than a parent. I will be there when our parents have passed. I will always be closer to her own age therefore, I will understand her easier (hopefully). I am the sister with whom she will confide in and I have to be there for all of those things that she will expect out of me.

I have a lot of responsibilities yet to come. I am not sure if I am prepared for them quite yet. However, ready or not here they come. Through all of this uncertainty I am sure that if I am not prepared to be a sister how in the world can I expect to be a parent right now.

If and when I become a parent I will have a new perspective and appreciation for the responsibilities that come with it.

2 thoughts on “The Best Birth Control Possible

  1. I totally agree with you!
    I have always said after a day of looking after my 3 gorgeous, though sometimes obnoxious and overly precocious nephews, that it’s the best form of contaception!
    ~ Tiffany

Leave a Reply

